Between February and March in 1917, Balenciaga opened his first shop on Calle Bergara in San Sebastian, although six years later he set up his iconic store at Avenida número 2, where he remained for over five decades. And in 1937 he opened the doors of his establishment in Paris. To celebrate both anniversaries, the Cristóbal Balenciaga Museum is presenting the exhibition entitled “Collecting elegance, Rachel L. Mellon´s legacy”. An exhibition under the direction of M. Hubert de Givenchy, which brings together the collection of designs owned by Mrs Mellon, one of the best clients of the Balenciaga fashion house. There are nearly a hundred works, accessories and extensive documentation, and there will also be pieces from the Victoria & Albert Museum in London and the Balenciaga Archives in Paris. The exhibition will continue until February 2018 and the programme will be completed with masterclasses, workshops, a summer course by the University of the Basque Country, musical events and special tours.